Palm Oil #1

You love Nutella, Snickers and our crispy breakfast ­cereals. There are days when you just can’t resist putting a fast deep-frozen pizza in the oven. We use cosmetics, lotions, shampoo and wash detergents every day without realising the impact of palm oil in all these products.

What’s it used for?

Palm oil makes one third of all vegetable oils worldwide. It is highly productive as its yields nearly six times as much as the next highest vegetable oil on a per hectare basis (wwf.panda.org). We find it in about half of all packaged food in our supermarkets. It is used for all “creamy” products such as cooking oil, margarine, confectionary, ice cream or ready-to-eat meals. It is the base for most liquid detergents, soaps, shampoos and for lipsticks, waxes and polishes. What you probably don’t now: The EU uses nearly half of the imported palm oil for biofuel (regenwald.org).

 

What’s the problem?

orangutan

As the demand for palm oil increases the plantations are the fastest growing agricultures worldwide. Most of them are in Malaysia and Indonesia. According to saynotopalmoil.com an area equivalent to the size of 300 football fields of rain forest is cleared each hour to make way for palm oil production. This large-scale deforestation not only supports climate change and indigenous rights abuses, but also endangers many species, especially the orangutans. Latest findings show that our relatives could become extinct within the next 5-10 years, the Sumatran tiger in even less than 3 years (saynotopalmoil.com).

On the other hand, the business is an opportunity for small plantation owners to flee from poverty and ensure a regular income. If you want to learn more about the complex connections, have a look at this interactive article:

https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/ng-interactive/2014/nov/10/palm-oil-rainforest-cupboard-interactive

plantage.jpg

4 thoughts on “Palm Oil #1

  1. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    justification seemed to be on the net the easiest factor to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while folks think about issues that they
    just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as
    smartly as defined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thank you

    Like

  2. I like looking through an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

    Like

  3. Dear BAREfood, thank you for your great blog and interesting and brutally honest post! I have admit that I do love Nutella and Shokomac and ice cream and so on and I admit that I heard about this before and still consume them. Still, reading about this makes me question my consumer spending and I am determined to pay more attention to the contents of what I eat in the future. In general, I think eating clean and preparing my food myself is better than buying prepared food in the supermarket because only then can you now and control what you’re eating and drinking. Looking on the backs of all the packages of prepared food you normally buy without thinking about it, like pudding, marmelade, salads, dressings or sausages, not to mention frozen pizza or packet soups, I think it is shocking to find out what they contain and what, cooking them at home, I would have never put in there myself. Nonetheless, I have to confess that in the rush of everyday life I am not always able to live up to my resolutions and although I swear I have never bought a knorr Bolognese or similar in my life, I sometimes do eat pizza, fries or Nutella, which I frankly couldn’t live without. This is why I think it is so important to be confronted with posts like yours every once in a while, not only to reach new people who haven’t thought about this before, but also to remind people like me of their resolutions and the consequences of their consumer spending.

    vivi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

